Open Standards

Esri has a long-standing commitment to standards and interoperability. That’s why ArcGIS supports more than 100 established standards including data formats, metadata, and services. We continue to work with many standards organizations to develop new standards and update existing ones.

Supporting your Data Formats

Esri gives you the ability to read and write to various data formats. Use Extract, Transform, and Load (ETL) tools for data and schema migration.



Metadata gives people a common way to understand geospatial data. Metadata standards provide a structure for creating and organizing metadata such as consistent terminology for catalogs and global search. Esri provides support for multiple metadata management options to meet specific needs or standards profiles.

We support these metadata standards.

  • ISO 19115
  • FGDC Content Standard for Digital Geospatial Metadata (CSDGM)
  • Dublin Core
  • DCAT

We also support custom metadata formats.


Service standards are used to transfer data via the web. They allow users to interact with data this includes viewing maps, accessing and querying data.
  • Buy Now

    Geospatial Standards Organizations

    Esri supports several SDOs including:
  • Buy Now

    Get in touch with us

    Product Information

    Get answers for your product, industry or technical inquiries

    Request Product Information

    Contact Us

    Find our Esri India office nearest to you

    Contact Esri India

    Give us a call

    Talk over the phone

    Outside India? Find your local Esri office.